Dental Hygienist

ANNOUNCEMENT:

The new system launched on August 22, 2016, all applications and renewals will need to be completed online.  The Board no longer accepts paper applications or paper checks since the new elicensing system is active.

The Board has made every effort to include the information you need to apply for items for a Dental Hygienist on this website. If you have questions or concerns about the licensure process, contact us at licensing@den.ohio.gov or call 614-466-2580 and speak with our licensing coordinator

Please provide the necessary information/documentation required for processing your license application. You will be notified if any information/documentation is missing or not accepted.  Please allow up to 20 calendar days to process a complete application.

Dental Hygienist

License Requirements: Ohio Administrative Code  4715-9-03

Before You Start: Make sure you have the following items or the application will not allow you to advance. All applications must be complete before submission.

Notification:  Once you register and start your online application, you will need to select the application and then the application type:  
Examination - If you have ever taken and passed an accepted Regional Board examination (NERB/CDCA, SRTA, CRDTS or WREB), then you must select Examination regardless of whether you have an out-of-state-license.
Out-of-State - Reciprocity - If you have never successfully passed one of the accepted Regional Board examinations (NERB/CDCA, SRTA, CRDTS or WREB), and you currently possess a license in good standing from another state for at least five (5) years immediately preceding this application.

eLicense Ohio Portal- Apply Online
Fee: $184 (Even Year) 
 $120 (Odd Year)

Renewal: $144/ Late Fee- $39.00
Please note:  It does not matter when your license is first issued, you will be required to renew by December 31st of the odd year.  That is why there are two different fees depending on when you apply.  

Mailing / Public Address: The Address should be the same for both and should be your home address.  Only the city and state show up on the public look-up.  
Employment History
Education History - Type "Other" to enter education institutions that are not found. 
Background Questions 


Criminal Records Check – Refer to Ohio Revised Code 4715-4-01

Require Uploads:

Identification Photo: Must be in color, Forward facing, Shoulders and above. 

Hepatitis B Immunity: 
            I. Vaccination record showing all three (3) hepatitis B shots dates, OR 
            II. A Positive/ Reactive/ >10 hepatitis surface antibodies titer, OR 
            III.  At the very Least we will accept proof that the first and second shots were administered, and the third shot (full date) is scheduled on a doctor's letterhead, script pad or appointment reminder. 
           IV. Hepatitis B Waiver Form

Medical Report- Completed by a Physician Assistant, or Nurse Practitioner

Jurisprudence Exam - You will need to upload only the completed answer sheet with notary section

Dental Practice Act, 2017
Jurisprudence Exam
Answer Sheet and Notary Page- These are the two documents you will upload. 

Proof of being a graduate of an accredited school of dental hygiene - the following will be accepted:
I. Transcripts indicating graduation date and degree received, OR
II. Certificate of Dental Hygiene School – signed and sealed after graduation date (link provided), OR
III. A certification letter from school signed and sealed after graduation date.

Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations (JCNDE) Score Card – If you need this document, please contact the JCNDE at 312-440-2678.

Proof of one of the following requirements:
I. Passed an accepted Regional Board Exam, OR 
II. Possess a license in good standing from another state and have actively engaged in the legal and reputable practice of dentistry for five years immediately preceding application – (Certification/Verification letter from State Dental Board).

Valid Credit Card (MasterCard or Visa) 

Reinstatement of Dental Hygiene

 

Requirements

4715.242 REINSTATEMENT
(A) A dental hygienist who is temporarily retired pursuant to section 4715.241 of the Revised Code may submit a written request to the state dental board at any time for reinstatement of the dental hygienist’s license. The board shall reinstate the license if the dental hygienist does both of the following:
(1) Pays the biennial registration fee established under section 4715.24 of the Revised Code for the period that includes the day on which the temporary retirement is to cease;
(2) Provides the board satisfactory evidence that the dental hygienist, during the two-year period immediately preceding the date that the dental hygienist submitted the written request for license reinstatement, completed a minimum of twenty-four hours of continuing dental hygiene education in accordance with division (B) of this section.

(B) The completion of continuing dental hygiene education required under division (A)(2) of this section is subject to division (D) of section 4715.25 of the Revised Code. The continuing education programs may be developed and offered to dental hygienists by any of the agencies or organizations described in division (C) of section 4715.25 of the Revised Code. The board may excuse dental hygienists, as a group or as individuals, from all or any part of the requirements of division (A)(2) of this section because of an unusual circumstance, emergency, or special hardship.

(C) The state dental board shall register each dental hygienist whose license is reinstated under this section. The registration expires at the end of the registration period during which the license is reinstated.

Effective Date: 8/31/2010

Application

Before You Start: Make sure you have the following items or the application will not allow you to advance. All applications must be complete before submission.

eLicense Ohio Portal

Fee: $144.00 – if Retired Status
 $183.00 – if Expired Status

UPLOADS:
Medical Report
Proof of Hepatitis B immunity (immunization records or antibodies titer)
Proof of 24 hours of continuing education
Current CPR Certification through the American Heart Association, American Red Cross, or the American Safety and Health Institute

Jurisprudence Exam - You will need to upload only the completed answer sheet with notary section

Documents required to be sent directly to the Board

AND

  • All Certification letters from any other states in which you have held or currently hold a license to practice dentistry.  Certification/Verification letters should be sent directly to the Ohio State Dental Board:
  • e-mail: licensing@den.ohio.gov
  • U.S. Mail: 77 South High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215-6135

‚ÄčAdditional Forms if Applicable

Limited Dental Hygiene Teaching License

 

Requirements

Dental Hygiene Limited Teaching Licenses

The Ohio State Dental Board (Board) may without examination issue a Limited Teaching License to a dentist or dental hygienist who is authorized to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in another state or country, and who has a full-time appointment to the faculty of the endorsing dental college or dental hygiene school. A person holding a limited teaching license may practice only in connection with programs operated by the endorsing dental college.

Limited Teaching Licenses are subject to yearly renewal. The nonrefundable fee for the license is $73.


The application must be certified by both the dean of the dental college, and the chairman of the department, or by the director of the dental hygiene school and a Criminal Records Check (BCI&I and FBI) completed by the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation, must be submitted directly the the Board. Results shall be received by the board prior to the issuance of a license to practice. For information on obtaining a background check, you may go the their website: http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Business/Services-for-Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing.

Pass a written jurisprudence examination on the Dental Practice Act, Chapter 4715. of the Ohio Revised Code. 

Application

Before You Start: Make sure you have the following items or the application will not allow you to advance. All applications must be complete before submission.

eLicense Ohio Portal

Fee: $73.00 

Mailing Address: Address where official Board correspondence will be mailed
Public Address: Address displayed on Public Licensee Lookup Page 
Employment History 
Education History 
Background Questions 

Required Uploads:

Certification of Dental Hygiene School-We will accept the following:  Official Transcripts w/ graduation date, Certificate of Dental Hygiene School-signed after graduation date (link provided), or a Letter from school with Seal-signed after graduation date
Certificate of Appointment to Dental Hygiene College
Out-of-State License Certification if applicable

Documents required to be sent directly to Board:
BCI/FBI Background Check

Valid Credit Card (MasterCard or Visa)

Dental Practice Act, 2017
Jurisprudence Exam and Answer Sheet 

Oral Health Access Supervision Permit

 

Information

A dental hygienist may participate in an oral health access supervision program and provide dental hygiene services if all of the following requirements have been met 4715-9-06.

Definitions regarding OHASP permit 4715.36 (G) 

Application

Permit Requirements: Ohio Revised Code 4715-10-03

Before You Start: Make sure you have the following items or the application will not allow you to advance. All applications must be complete before submission.

eLicense Ohio Portal- Apply Online 

Fee: $25.00

Mailing / Public Address: The Address should be the same for both and should be your home address. Only the city and state show up on the public look-up. 
Employment History 
Education History - Type "Other" to enter education institutions that are not found. 
Background Questions 

Required Uploads:

Approved 8-hour Oral Health Access Supervision Program (OHASP) Course Certificate

Approved Permanent Sponsor Medical Emergencies Course Certificate – acquired during the 2 years immediately preceding this application.

Proof of 24 hours of continuing education – acquired during the 2 years immediately preceding this application

Supervising OHASP dentist’s name and permit number

Proof of 1 year and 1500 hours of dental hygiene experience – letter from employer with specific time frame and hours indicated

Valid Credit Card (MasterCard or Visa)

If Renewing: Oral Health Access Supervision Program Renewal Log

Education

Education required to apply for OHASP Permit: Ohio Revised Code 4715-9-06.1

Temporary Volunteer's Certificate

Certificate Requirements: Ohio Revised Code 4715.421

Before You Start: Make sure you have the following items or the application will not allow you to advance. All applications must be complete before submission.

eLicense Ohio Portal- Apply Online
Fee: $25.00 / Renewal: $25.00

Mailing/ Public Address: Main Practice Location
Employment History - Additional Office Locations and/or prior employment 
Education History 
Background Questions 

Required Uploads:
Identification Photo: Must be in color, Forward facing, Shoulders and above

Hepatitis B Immunity: 
I. Vaccination record showing all three (3) hepatitis B shots dates, OR 
        II. A Positive/ Reactive/  >10 hepatitis surface antibodies titer, OR 
III.  At the very Least we will accept  proof that the first and second shots were administered, and the third shot (full date) is scheduled on a doctor's letterhead, script pad or appointment reminder. 
        IV. Hepatitis B Waiver Form 

Copy of Degree from Accredited Dental College or Dental Hygiene School 

Copy of most recent license to practice Dentistry or Dental Hygiene – Issued by a jurisdiction in the United States or in one or more branches of the United States armed services. You will also need Certification/Verification letter(s). 

If RenewingA temporary volunteer’s certificate shall be valid for a period of 7 days and may be renewed upon application and payment of $25.00.  

Valid Credit Card (MasterCard or Visa)

Volunteer Certificate

Certificate Requirements: Ohio Revised Code 4715-22-01

** A Volunteer certificate is issued to RETIRED Dentist or Hygienist to provide free service to indigent and uninsured persons.**

Before You Start: Make sure you have the following items or the application will not allow you to advance. All applications must be complete before submission.

eLicense Ohio Portal- Apply Online 
Fee: Free

Mailing Address: Address where official Board correspondence will be mailed 
Public Address: Address displayed on Public Licensee Lookup Page 
Employment History 
Education History 
Background Questions 

Required Uploads:
Identification Photo: Must be in color, Forward facing, Shoulders and above

Hepatitis B Immunity:

I. Vaccination record showing all three (3) hepatitis B shots dates, OR 
II. A Postive/ Reactive/  >10 hepatitis surface antibodies titer, OR
III.  At the very Least we will accept  proof that the first and second shots were administered, and the third shot (full date) is scheduled on a doctor's letterhead, script pad or appointment reminder. 
IV. Hepatitis B Waiver Form

Copy of Degree from Accredited Dental College or Dental Hygiene School 

Copy of most recent license to practice Dentistry or Dental Hygiene – Issued by a jurisdiction in the United States or in one or more branches of the United States armed services.

Proof of maintaining full licensure for at least 10 years prior to retirement – Full licensure in good standing, used by a jurisdiction in the United States or in one or more branches of the United States armed services, by means of a Certification/Verification letter(s)

If Renewing:  A volunteer’s certificate shall be valid for a period of 3 years and be renewed upon application– no fee. 

Eligibility for Renewal – Proof of completion of 60 hours of continuing dental education, or 18 hours of continuing dental hygiene education.  The nonprofit shelter or health care facility in which the holder provides dental or dental hygiene services may pay for or reimburse the holder for any costs incurred in obtaining the required continuing education credits.  

Valid Credit Card (MasterCard or Visa)

CPR Sponsors/ 5 Year Refresher Course

COMPLETION OF BASIC LIFE-SUPPORT TRAINING COURSE. 

Each person licensed to practice as a dental hygienist and required to register with the state dental board shall, each time the person applies for renewal of registration beginning in 1995, be currently certified to perform basic life-support procedures by having successfully completed a basic life-support training course certified by the American red cross, the American heart association, or, if determined equivalent by the board, the American safety and health institute. An applicant for renewal of registration shall certify on the application for renewal of registration prescribed by the board under section 4715.24 of the Revised Code that the applicant possesses the certification required by this section. The board shall, not later than one hundred eighty days after the effective date of this amendment, determine whether basic life-support training certified by the American safety and health institute meets national standards. The board shall compare the training certified by the institute with the training certified by the American red cross and the American heart association and the training of instructors certified by the institute to the training of instructors certified by the American red cross and the American heart association. If the board determines that the training certified by the American safety and health institute meets national standards and is equivalent to the training certified by the American red cross and the American heart association, the board shall accept training certified by the American safety and health institute in fulfillment of the requirements of this section. Effective Date: 11-12-1992; 09-29-2007 

Approved CPR Sponsors: 
American Red Cross
The American Heart Association
The American safety and Health Institute

5 Year Refresher Course
Tri-County Dental Hygienist Association

Permissible Practices

Permissible Practices Documentation for Dental Hygienists – Requirements: Ohio Administrative Code 4715-9-01

     Administration of intraoral block and infiltration local anesthesia – Requirements: Ohio Administrative Code 4715-9-01.1 

     Administration of nitrous oxide-oxygen (N2O-O2) minimal sedation – Requirements: Ohio Administrative Code 4715-9-01.2 

     Monitoring of nitrous oxide-oxygen (N2O-O2) minimal sedation – Requirements: Ohio Administrative Code 4715-9-01.3 

     Practice when the dentist is not physically present – Requirements: Ohio Administrative Code 4715-9-05 

     Identification and Prevention of Potential Medical Emergencies Course – Permanent Sponsor Requirements: Ohio  Administrative Code 4715-8-02

     Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) certificate – Requirements: Ohio Revised Code 4715.251

Retirement Request