News and Announcements
Please be advised that the Ohio State Dental Board passed a motion at the March 7th, 2018 meeting to temporarily suspend the enforcement of the Board’s specialty designation (4715-5-04) and advertising (4715-13-05) rules until such time that the Board has amended said rules. Please note that not any dentist may claim to be a specialist and advertise as such. The only dentists that may advertise as specialists are diplomates of a national certifying board of a specialty recognized by the American Dental Association (ADA) or a diplomate of a certifying board currently recognized by the American Board of Dental Specialties (ABDS) until the Board revises said rules and the revisions become effective. To further clarify, a general dentist who is not currently a diplomate of any of the aforementioned certifying boards recognized by the ADA or ABDS is not permitted to advertise as a specialist.
The Dental Board adopted the new and amended rules on Opioid Prescribing. Effective on 8/31/17.
Renewal: $312.00 / Late Fee $127
Dental Hygiene License
Renewal: $144/ Late Fee: 39.00
Expanded Functions Dental Auxiliary
The State of Ohio has recently converted to a new licensure system, you will need to register in eLicense before you can start the renewal process. You will need the following information:
- Navigate to eLicense.ohio.gov
- Choose Login / Create an Account
- Click the I Have a License button
- You will need the following to register:
- Security Code (sent to you by the Dental Board)
- Social Security Number
- Date of Birth
- Create/confirm a unique password
*** If you need to update and notify us of your email address, email Licensing@den.ohio.gov ***
Once on your Dashboard:
- Find the license you wish to renew
- Click the Options button on that license tile
- Choose Renew from the dropdown options
- Be sure to update your profile and contact information
- Access your shopping cart to pay renewal fees with a credit card
An automated email will be sent to you once you have successfully completed the renewal application and paid the required fee. If you have questions or need assistance, please e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org
We would like to commend all those dentists that are ensuring their dental auxiliary staff have an active and current license to practice. This small but critical action is helping the profession be proactive in ensuring that all employees in a dental office are in compliance with the Dental Board laws and rules in terms of being able to legally practice in Ohio.
Along these lines, the Dental Board is requesting all other dentists to kindly do the same as soon as possible but not later than August 1, 2017.
Listed below is a quick step-by-step process for accomplishing this task:
Step 1 - Please go to the eLicense Ohio portal at elicense.ohio.gov
Step 2 - Select Verify a License section
Step 3 - Select Board Name - Dental Board
Step 4 - Enter First and Last Name or License Number
Step 5 - Click Search.
Step 6 – If employee has a current license then no further action is needed.
Step 7 – If employee does not have a current license then please advise them to contact the Board office immediately. Please verify again within 30 days to determine if employee now has a current and active license. If employee is still out of compliance then please contact the Board office
As you may be aware, the Board currently issues licenses, certificates, or registrations for the following list of dental auxiliaries:
Expanded Function Dental Auxiliary (EFDA)
From a best-practice perspective, you should verify your staff’s licensure status upon hiring, and no less than annually to ensure current and active licensure at all times.
Although it is the responsibility of the licensee to make sure their credentials are current, the employer shares this responsibility. As you may already be aware, the Board can take administrative action against anyone practicing on an expired license, certificate or registration and/or may refer these matters to law enforcement.
Thank you for your time and support in this important matter as we work together in ensuring that the profession is protected along with its consumers.
This is a reminder that eLicense will be unavailable between 9:00 PM, Sunday, June 11th and 5:00 AM Monday, June 12th for scheduled maintenance. It will also be unavailable from 6:00 PM, Friday, June 16th to 8:00 AM, Monday, June 19th for scheduled maintenance.
The Ohio State Dental Board (Board) has posted draft rules for comment. As part of the public participation process, the Board solicits and encourages input from affected organizations and individuals.
The proposed new and amended rules are as follows:
Additionally, Senate Bill 2 of the 129th General Assembly requires state agencies, including the Board, to draft rules in collaboration with stakeholders, assess and justify any adverse impact on the business community (as defined by SB 2), and provide opportunity for the affected public to provide input on the rules.
If you wish to comment on the proposed rule changes at this time, please submit your comments and include the rule numbers you wish to comment on in the “Subject” line to email@example.com AND copy the Common Sense Initiative Office (CSI) on your e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org .
The deadline for public comment for purposes of CSI is at the end of business on Friday, May 26, 2017.
On April 25, 2017, the Ohio Automated Rx Reporting System (OARRS) upgraded to its new software platform. While every attempt was made to ensure a smooth transition, the Board is aware of some access issues and is working diligently to correct these issues.
For those currently experiencing access issues, please be aware of the following:
The new system uses e-mail addresses rather than user names. If you do not recall the e-mail address linked to your OARRS account, you will have to contact the Board at 614-466-4143 option 1, or by email at email@example.com. Due to the upgrade, we are experiencing higher volumes of phone calls and emails than usual. We will address your issue as soon as we can.
The new system cannot import your previous password. All users are required to reset their passwords when they login for the first time. To reset your password, use the Password Reset link on the login page. If your account is not able to be found, please register for a new account. If you are otherwise unable to reset your password, please call the Board at 614-466-4143 option 1.
For all other inquiries: Technical Support 844-464-4767
Account Inquiries: 614-466-4143
The Ohio State Dental Board (Board) is excited to share our new Consolidated Auxiliary Duties (C.A.D.) Matrix . This document was formerly distributed as a document entitled “Permissible Practice of the Dental Auxiliary.” The new C.A.D. Matrix is a color-coded quick reference guide which shows the permitted functions and duties for all dental auxiliaries in the dental practice. This guide is an evolving document that will be updated as dental board rules and statutes are changed.
Find it on our website under the Licensure tab, Permissible Practices/ CAD Matrix
Senate Bill 2 of the 129th General Assembly requires state agencies, including the Board, to draft rules in collaboration with stakeholders, assess and justify any adverse impact on the business community (as defined by SB 2), and provide opportunity for the affected public to provide input on the rules.
The Board is proposing a new Ohio Administrative Code Rule 4715-6-02 “Prescribing opioid analgesics for acute pain.” and is also proposing to amend Rules 4715-3-01 “Definitions.” and 4715-8-01 “Continuing education requirements.”
Attached are copies of the proposed new and proposed amended rules. You may also view these documents by visiting the Board’s website under Laws and Rules Tab.