DENTAL EXAMINATION ON THE DENTAL PRACTICE ACT

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
CHAPTER 4715. oF THE OHIO REVISED AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODES

The Ohio State Dental Board is:

a) a branch of the Ohio Dental Association.

b) a branch of the Ohio Department of Health.

c) an Ohio governmental regulatory agency.

d) an agency of the American Dental Association.

e) an agency of the Occupational Health and Safety
Administration (OSHA).

The purpose of the Ohio State Dental Board is to:

a) examine and license dentists and dental hygienists.

by formulate rules and regulations governing dentistry in Ohio.

c) enforce the laws and rules governing dentistry and dental hygiene
in Ohio.

d) protect the citizens of the State of Ohio by enforcement of the
Dental Practice Act.

e) All of the above.

A dental license issued by the Ohio State Dental Board is:

a) permanent.

by renewable annually.

c) Subject to renewal every two years.
d) subject to renewal every three years.
e) None of the above.



In order to renew a dental license the licensee must complete:

a) 10 hours of continuing education annually.
by 20 hours of continuing education biennially.
c) 20 hours of continuing education annually.
d) 40 hours of continuing education biennially.
e) None of the above.

Licensed dentists must notify the Ohio State Dental Board in
writing, within __ days concerning any change in employment
office address.

a) 7

by 10

c 15

d) 30

e) At the time of license renewal.

A dentist-employer can have a maximum of ___licensed dental
hygienist(s) practicing at one time under his/her supervision.

a)l

b)
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A dentist-employer can have a maximum of ___currently certified
expanded function dental auxiliary(s) practicing at one time
under his/her supervision.

a)l

b)
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A dental hygienist licensed to practice in Ohio may perform the
following intra-oral procedures:

a) removal of calcareous deposits or accretions from the crowns and
roots of teeth.

b) periodontal scaling, root planing, soft tissue curettage.

c) Sulcular placement of prescribed materials.

d) placement of sealants.

e) All of the above.

A supervising dentist may have not more than ___ dental
hygienists treating patients when the dentist is not physically
present.

a) 1

b)
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A licensed dentist may not delegate which remediable intra-oral
task and/or procedure?

a)

b)

d)

e)

preliminary selection and sizing of orthodontic bands and arch
wires.

checking for and removal of loosened orthodontic bands and arch
wires.

cementation of orthodontic bands and/or bonding of orthodontic
brackets.

placement and removal of orthodontic separators and ties (steel
and elastomeric)

placement and removal of orthodontic arch wires, auxiliary arch
wires, and ligation of same to orthodontic bands and/or brackets.

The following tasks and/or procedures can be delegated by a
license dentist to either basic qualified personnel or expanded
function dental auxiliary (EFDA):

a)

b)

c)

d)

e)

retraction of the gingival sulcus prior to direct or indirect
impression technique.

final impressions of any tissue-bearing area, whether it be hard or
soft tissue, upon which a prosthetic restoration is to be placed.
occlusal registration procedures for any prosthetic restoration,
whether it be fixed or removable.

subgingival scaling of teeth.

None of the above.



12.

13.

14,

In order to practice while the dentist is not physically present, the Ohio
licensed dental hygienist must:

a) successfully complete a 4-hour Board-approved course in identification
and prevention of medical emergencies.

b) have a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certificate.

c) have proof of practice as a dental hygienist for at least two years and a
minimum of three thousand hours.

d) comply with written protocols or written standing orders that the
supervising dentist establishes.

e) All of the above.

Which of the following continuing education topics is acceptable for
licensure renewal?

a) Dental pharmacology

b) Practice management

c) Teaching of the use of the Internet

d) Presentations by political or public figures

e) Alternative medicine/theory which has no scientific basis

What percentage of continuing education for dental license renewal can
be obtained in a directly interactive presentation format?

a) 10%
by 20%
c) 50%
d) 70%
e) 100%
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A dentist may be awarded a maximum of continuing education
hours for *“volunteer service as a clinician” during any given biennium.

e) nhone

A valid receipt, voucher, or certificate of completion of a continuing
education program or offering must include the following information:

a) Name(s) of the sponsor and instructor(s).

b) Course title.

c) Number of credit hours of acceptable continuing education credit.
d) Date and location of continuing education offering.

e) All of the above.

A dentist-employer may delegate coronal polishing to the following
dental auxiliary personnel:

a) an unlicensed dental hygienist who is a graduate of an accredited dental
hygiene program, has completed training in advanced remediable intra-
oral dental tasks and/or procedures, and is awaiting Board licensure.

by an unlicensed dentist who is a graduate of an accredited dental school and
Is awaiting Board licensure.

c) acurrently certified dental assistant who has completed a 7-hour Board-
approved training program in coronal polishing, successfully passed a
standardized test, and received a Board-approved certificate to perform
coronal polishing.

d) All of the above.

e) None of the above.
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A currently certified dental assistant is not required to provide evidence
of the following in order to apply for a dental assistant radiographer
license?

a) Evidence of good moral character (FBI background check).

by Successful completion of a 7-hour Board-approved course in dental
radiography.

c) Immunity to or inoculation against the Hepatitis B virus.

d aandb

e) bandc

No dentist shall employ or use conscious sedation unless such dentist
possesses a permit of authorization based on evidence showing that
he/she:

a) has satisfactorily completed training in conscious sedation, which
included a minimum of sixty hours of didactic instruction and twenty
cases of clinical experience.

b) has had an on-site evaluation by an agent of the Board prior to issuance
of a permit.

c) Mmaintains a permanent address within the State of Ohio where he/she
conducts business.

d) maintains successful completion of an Advanced Cardiac Life Support
(ACLS) course or its age appropriate equivalent, Pediatric Advanced Life
Support (PALS).

e) All of the above.

Dentists who do not hold a Board-approved conscious sedation permit
cannot prescribe or administer oral sedation to patients who:

a) are unable to continuously maintain an airway.

b) are 12 years or younger.

c) have had a single drug or combination of drugs administered
concomitantly orally or sublingually at one time on a given treatment day
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d)

but require an increased dosage in order to obtain a sufficient level of
sedation or anxiolysis.
have not completed a current health history.

e) All of the above.

An anesthesia permit is required to administer all of the following
except:

a)
b)
c)
d)

e)

propofol

parenteral ketamine

nitrous oxide/oxygen
ultra-short acting barbiturates
None of the above.

A supervising dentist may have not more than ___ currently certified
dental assistants holding Board-approved coronal polishing certificates
practicing at one time under his/her supervision.

a)

b)

1

g B~ WD



23.

24,

25,

A dental hygienist may provide dental hygiene services to a patient
when the supervising dentist is not present if the following requirements
are met:

a)

b)

c)

d)

the dental hygienist has at least one thousand hours of clinical
experience.

the dental hygienist has completed a Board approved course in the
identification and prevention of medical emergencies.

the patient of the dental hygienist has been examined by the supervising
dentist not more than two years prior to the appointment.

the dental hygienist is certified to administer local anesthesia.

Which of the following are grounds for disciplinary action?

a)

b)

c)

d)

e)

Selling, prescribing, giving away, or administering drugs for other than
legal and therapeutic purposes.

Failure to use universal blood and body fluid precautions.

Waiving the payment of all or any part of a patients health insurance
deductable or copayment.

Conviction of a misdemeanor committed in the course of practice or of
any felony.

All of the above.

Which of the following dental personnel are required to provide
evidence of immunity to or inoculation against the Hepatitis B virus?

a)
b)
c)

d)

e)

Dentists

Dental hygienists

Dental assistant radiographers

Certified dental assistants with Board-approved coronal polishing
certificates

All of the above
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Heat sterilization devices must be tested for proper function on a
basis by means of a biological monitoring system.

a) daily

by weekly

c) bi-monthly
d) monthly
e) quarterly

A dental assistant may assist the licensed dentist in all the following
except:

a) the concurrent performance of supportive procedures.

b) the administration of drugs, medications and inhalation anesthetic agents.
c) the parenteral injections of drugs and local anesthetic agents.

d) the administration of nitrous oxide.

e) All of the above.

Which of the following are not required infection control barrier
techniques?

a) Chin length face shields or masks.

by Eyewear with protective side shields.
c) Gowns.

d) Disposable gloves.

e) None of the above.

Which of the following items does not need to be heat sterilized between
patients?

a) Disposable prophy cups.

by Surgical instruments.

c) Air-water syringe tips.

d) All hand and orthodontic instruments.
e) None of the above.
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All of the following intra-oral procedures except can be delegated
to basic qualified personnel (BQP):

a)

b)

d)

e)

Aspiration and retraction, excluding placement of gingival retraction
materials.

Pulp testing.

Suture removal.

Caries susceptibility testing.

Placement of rubber dam clamp.

All of the following intra-oral procedures except can be delegated
to expanded function dental auxiliary (EFDA) personnel:

a)
b)
c)

d)

e)

Placement of sealants.

Monitoring nitrous oxide/oxygen.

Application of topical anesthetics.

Placement and removal of orthodontic arch wires, auxiliary arch wires,
and ligation of same to orthodontic bands and/or brackets.

Placement of non-metallic restorative materials, including direct bonded
restorative materials.

Which of the following is a specialty recognized by the American Dental
Association?

a)
b)
c)
d)

e)

Esthetic Dentist.

Public Health Dentist.
Implantologist.

Dental Anesthesiologist.
TMD Specialist.
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A dentist who has graduated, but has not completed the requirements
for licensure in the State of Ohio may legally practice as under
the supervision of a licensed dentist?

a) Dental assistant radiographer.

by Dental hygienist.

c) Expanded function dental auxiliary.

d) Basic qualified personnel (BQP).

e) Certified dental assistant holding a Board-approved coronal polishing
certificate.

A dental assistant may take x-rays for ___ after completing the didactic
portion of the 7-hour initial training course for dental assistant
radiography before he/she must be licensed by the Board.

a) 15 days
by 30 days
c) 60 days
d) 90 days
e) as long as they want until they get it right.

Use of hand hygiene is acceptable under the following conditions:

a) Before and/or after patient contact.

by When hands are visibly soiled.

c) After removing gloves that are torn, cut or punctured.
d) Before leaving the dental operatory or laboratory.

e) All of the above.



