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APPLICATION FORM FOR AN ORAL HEALTH ACCESS SUPERVISION PERMIT

Do Not Write In This Space

O penTisT 0 DENTALHYGIENIST For Office Use Only
1. Present Legal Name (Print) Last First Middle Maiden (If applicable)
2. Address Number and Street City State Zip Code County

3. E-mail address

4. Name as you wish it to appear on your permit (Type or Print)

5. Attach a copy of your most recent license to practice
O Dentist O Dental Hygienist License Number Original Issue Date Expiration Date

DENTAL HYGIENISTS ONLY

6. Attach evidence of completion of at least one (1) year and 1,500 hours of experience in the clinical practice of
dental hygiene.

7. Attach copies of 24 hours of acceptable continuing education for the two (2) years immediately preceding submission
of this application.

8. Attach evidence of successful completion of an eight (8) hour course pertaining to the practice of dental hygiene
under the oral health access supervision of a dentist that meets the standards established in Ohio Administrative Code
Section 4715-9-06.1.

9. Attach evidence that in the two (2) years immediately preceding submission of this application, you have
successfullly completed a course pertaining to the identification and prevention of potential medical emergencies that is
the same as the course described in division (C)(2) of Section 4715.22 of the Ohio Revised Code.

10. Name of Authorizing OHASP Dentist

DENTISTS ONLY
11. Name of OHASP Hygienist

A non-refundable application fee of $20.00 MUST be submitted with this application.
The certified check or money order must be made out to:

Treasurer, State of Ohio or Ohio State Dental Board




ALL APPLICANTS

10. Have you been convicted of or plead guilty to any felony or misdemeanor? (Exclude all traffic

violations other than those involving driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.)? If YES, O ves
attach statements. O nNo
11. Do you have any criminal charges pending against you? If YES, attach statement giving O e
details of the matter and the name and address of the authority in possession of the record thereof.
O o
12. In the past year, have you been a patient in any sanitarium, hospital, or mental institution for O v
the treatment of mental illness? If YES, attach statements, giving full explanation, including name es
and address of doctor and institution. O No
13. Are you engaged in the current illegal use of controlled substances, or other habit-forming O  ves
drugs, or alcohol, or other chemical substances? If YES, attach statement giving full explanation,
dates, places, etc. O w~o
14. Do you have a physical or mental condition which could affect your ability to perform the duties 0O ves
and responsibilities of dental/dental hygiene completely? If YES, attach statement giving full
explanation. O w~o
AFFIDAVIT
15. STATE OF )
SS.
COUNTY OF )

| have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them truthfully, fully and completely,
without mental reservation of any kind.

| fully understand that failure to make a full disclosure of any fact or information called for may result in the denial of
my application.

| hereby authorize all educational institutions, governmental agencies and instrumentalities, my references, employers
and business and professional associates (past and present), to release to the Ohio State Dental Board any information,
files or records requested by the Board in connection with the processing of this application.

I hereby WAIVE all provisions of law forbidding any physician or other person who has attended to or examined me,
or who may hereafter attend to or examine me, from disclosing any knowledge or information which he/she thereby acquired,
and | hereby consent that he/she may disclose such knowledge or information to the Ohio State Dental Board.

| hereby certify that | have read carefully and understand the law and rules pertaining to the practice of dentistry/
dental hygiene and the law and rules governing the Oral Health Access Supervision Program (OHASP).

Being duly sworn, says that he/she is the person referred to in
this application and that the foregoing statements are true in every respect.

Signature of Applicant

SEAL Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of .

Signature of Notary

This Space To Be Completed By The Ohio State Dental Board

APPLICATION PERMITNUMBER DATE ISSUED

O Approved
O Denied




Ohio State Dental Board
Ohio Revised Code Sections 4715.36 to 4715.374 and Ohio Administrative Code Sections 4715-9-06, 4715-9-06.1, and 4715-10-01 to 4715-10-04.1
Oral Health Access Supervision Program

Ohio Revised Code

4715.36 Definitions.

As used in this section and sections 4715.361 to 4715.374 of the Revised

Code:

(A) “Accredited dental hygiene school” means a dental hygiene school
accredited by the American dental association commission on dental
accreditation or a dental hygiene school whose educational standards are
recognized by the American dental association commission on dental
accreditation and approved by the state dental board.

(B) *“Authorizing dentist” means a dentist who authorizes a dental hygienist
to perform dental hygiene services under section 4715.365 of the Revised
Code.

(C) “Clinical evaluation” means a diagnosis and treatment plan formulated
for an individual patient by a dentist.

(D) Dentist” means an individual licensed under this chapter to practice
dentistry.

(E) “Dental hygienist” means an individual licensed under this chapter to
practice as a dental hygienist.

(F) “Dental hygiene services” means the prophylactic, preventive, and other
procedures that dentists are authorized by this chapter and rules of the
state dental board to assign to dental hygienists, except for procedures
while a patient is anesthetized, definitive root planing, definitive
subgingival curettage, the administration of local anesthesia, and the
procedures specified in rules adopted by the board as described in division
(C)(4) of section 4715.22 of the Revised Code.

(G) “Facility” means any of the following:

(1) A health care facility, as defined in section 4715.22 of the Revised
Code;

(2) A state correctional institution, as defined in section 2967.01 of the
Revised Code;

(3) A comprehensive child development program that receives funds
distributed under the “Head Start Act,” 95 Stat. 499 (1981), 42
U.S.C. 9831, as amended, and is licensed as a child day-care center;

(4) A residential facility licensed under section 5123.19 of the Revised
Code;

(5) A public school, as defined in section 3701.93 of the Revised Code,
located in an area designated as a dental health resource shortage
area pursuant to section 3702.87 of the Revised Code;

(6) A nonpublic school, as defined in section 3701.93 of the Revised
Code, located in an area designated as a dental health resource
shortage area pursuant to section 3702.87 of the Revised Code;

(7) A federally qualified health center or federally qualified health center
look-alike, as defined in section 3701.047 of the Revised Code;

(8) A shelter for victims of domestic violence, as defined in section
3113.33 of the Revised Code;

(9) A facility operated by the department of youth services under Chapter
5139. of the Revised Code;

(10) A shelter for runaways, as defined in section 5119.64 of the Revised
Code;

(11) A foster home, as defined in section 5103.02 of the Revised Code;

(12) A nonprofit clinic, as defined in section 3715.87 of the Revised
Code;

(13) The residence of one or more individuals receiving services provided
by a home health agency, as defined in section 5101.61 of the
Revised Code;

(14) A dispensary;

(15) A health care facility, such as a clinic or hospital, of the United
States department of veterans affairs;

(16) The residence of one or more individuals enrolled in a home and
community-based services medicaid waiver component, as defined
in section 5111.851 of the Revised Code;

(17) A facility operated by the board of health of a city or general health
district or the authority having the duties of a board of health under
section 3709.05 of the Revised Code;

(18) A women, infants, and children clinic;

(19) A mobile dental unit located at any location listed in divisions
(G)(1) to (18) of this section;

(20) Any other location, as specified by the state dental board in rules

adopted under section 4715.372 of the Revised Code, that is in an
area designated as a dental health resource shortage area pursuant to
section 3702.87 of the Revised Code and provides health care services
to individuals who are recipients of medical assistance under the
medicaid program established pursuant to Chapter 5111. of the
Revised Code and to indigent and uninsured persons, as defined in

section 2305.234 of the Revised Code.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

4715.361 Oral health access supervision program.
The oral health access supervision program is hereby created. The program

shall begin six months after the effective date of this section.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

4715.362 Application for permit; Dentist.

A dentist who desires to participate in the oral health access supervision pro-
gram shall apply to the state dental board for an oral health access supervision
permit. The application shall be under oath, on a form prescribed by the board
in rules adopted under section 4715.372 of the Revised Code, and accompanied
by an application fee of twenty dollars. To be eligible to receive the permit, an
applicant shall meet the requirements established by the board in rules adopted
under section 4715.372 of the Revised Code.

The state dental board shall issue an oral health access supervision permit to a
dentist who is in good standing with the board and satisfies all of the require-

ments of this section.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

4715.363 Application for permit; Dental hygienist.

(A) A dental hygienist who desires to participate in the oral health access
supervision program shall apply to the state dental board for a permit to
practice under the oral health access supervision of a dentist. The
application shall be under oath, on a form prescribed by the board in rules
adopted under section 4715.372 of the Revised Code, and accompanied
by an application fee of twenty dollars.

(B) The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the
applicant has done all of the following:

(1) Completed at least one year and attained a minimum of one thousand five
hundred hours of experience in the practice of dental hygiene;

(2) Completed at least twenty-four hours of continuing dental hygiene
education during the two years prior to submission of the application;

(3) Completed a course pertaining to the practice of dental hygiene
under the oral health access supervision of a dentist that meets
standards established in rules adopted under section 4715.372 of the
Revised Code;

(4) Completed, during the two years prior to submission of the application,
a course pertaining to the identification and prevention of potential
medical emergencies that is the same as the course described in
division (C)(2) of section 4715.22 of the Revised Code.

(C) The state dental board shall issue a permit to practice under the oral
health access supervision of a dentist to a dental hygienist who is in good
standing with the board and meets all of the requirements of divisions (A)

and (B) of this section.
Effective Date: HB 463 § 1, eff. 3/23/2015

4715.364 Permit required.

(A) No person shall authorize a dental hygienist to provide dental hygiene
services under section 4715.365 of the Revised Code unless the person
holds a current, valid oral health access supervision permit issued under
section 4715.362 of the Revised Code.

(B) No person shall provide dental hygiene services under section 4715.365
of the Revised Code unless the person holds a current, valid permit issued
under section 4715.363 of the Revised Code to practice under the oral

health access supervision of a dentist.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

4715.365 Authority under permit.

(A) A dentist who holds a current, valid oral health access supervision permit
issued under section 4715.362 of the Revised Code may authorize a dental
hygienist who holds a current, valid permit issued under section 4715.363
of the Revised Code to perform dental hygiene services at a facility when
no dentist is physically present if all of the following conditions are met:
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(8)

©

(1) The authorizing dentist’s authorization is in writing and includes, at a
minimum, all of the following:

(a) The authorizing dentist’s name and permit number;

(b) The dental hygienist’s name and permit number;

(c) The patient’s name;

(d) The name and address of the location where the dental
hygiene services are to be provided,;

(e) The date of authorization;

(f) A statement, signed by the dental hygienist, that the hygienist
agrees to comply with section 4715.366 of the Revised
Code.

(2) The authorizing dentist has personally evaluated the dental
hygienist’s skills prior to authorizing the dental hygienist to
provide the dental hygiene services.

(3) Prior to authorizing the dental hygienist to perform the dental
hygiene services, the patient’s medical and dental history is made
available to the authorizing dentist and the authorizing dentist
reviews and evaluates the history and determines that the patient
may safely receive dental hygiene services.

(4) Immediately prior to the provision of dental hygiene services,
the patient or patient’s representative verifies, by the signature
or mark of the patient or representative, that no medically
significant changes to the patient’s medical or dental history
have occurred since the authorizing dentist most recently reviewed
and evaluated the history and determined that the patient could
safely receive dental hygiene services. The signature or mark
may be provided through reasonable accommodation, including
the use of assistive technology or augmentative devices.

(5) Prior to receiving dental hygiene services, the patient and the
operator of the facility where the dental hygiene services are to
be provided are notified that no dentist will be present at the
location and that the dental hygienist is prohibited from doing
either of the following:

(a) Diagnosing the patient’s oral health care status;

(b) Providing dental hygiene services to the same patient on a
subsequent occasion until the patient has received a clinical
evaluation performed by a dentist, except in instances
described in division (D)(2) of this section.

(6) The dental hygienist is employed by, or under contract with, one
of the following:

(a) The authorizing dentist;

(b) A dentist who is any of the following:

(i) The authorizing dentist’s employer;

(if) A shareholder in a professional association, formed
under Chapter 1785. of the Revised Code, of which
the authorizing dentist is a shareholder;

A member or manager of a limited liability company,

formed under Chapter 1705. of the Revised Code, of

which the authorizing dentist is a member or manager;

A shareholder in a corporation, formed under division

(B) of section 1701.03 of the Revised Code, of which

the authorizing dentist is a shareholder;

(v) A partner or employee of a partnership, formed under

Chapter 1775. of the Revised Code, of which the

authorizing dentist is a partner or employee;

A partner or employee of a limited liability partnership,

formed under Chapter 1775. of the Revised Code, of

which the authorizing dentist is a partner or employee.

(c) A government entity that employs the dental hygienist to
provide dental hygiene services.

(7) If the patient to whom the services are to be provided previously
received dental hygiene services under this section, there is written
evidence that the patient received a clinical evaluation after the
most recent provision of those services.

No dentist shall authorize a dental hygienist to perform, and no dental

hygienist shall perform, dental hygiene services on a patient under this

section unless all of the conditions in division (A) of this section are
met.

If a patient or patient’s representative indicates, under division (A)(4)

of this section, that a medically significant change has occurred in the

patient’s medical or dental history since the authorizing dentist’s most
recent review and evaluation of the medical and dental history required
by division (A)(3) of this section, no dental hygiene services shall be
provided under this section until the authorizing dentist completes
another review and evaluation of the patient’s medical and dental

(iif)

(iv)

(vi)

history. The authorizing dentist may complete the subsequent review and
evaluation of the patient’s medical and dental history by telephone, facsimile,
electronic mail, video, or any other means of electronic communication.

(D) (1) Exceptas provided in division (D)(2) of this section, no dentist shall

authorize a dental hygienist to provide, and no dental hygienist shall provide,

dental hygiene services under this section to the same patient on a

subsequent occasion until the patient has received a clinical evaluation

performed by a dentist.

(2) Division (D)(1) of this section does not apply if the patient
requires multiple visits to complete one or more procedures that
could not be completed during the visit in which dental hygiene
services were commenced. If the patient requires multiple visits
to complete the one or more procedures that could not be
completed during the visit in which dental hygiene services were
commenced, the one or more procedures shall be completed not
later than eight weeks after the visit in which the dental hygiene
services were commenced.

No authorizing dentist shall authorize a dental hygienist to diagnose a

patient’s oral health care status. No dental hygienist practicing under

a permit issued under section 4715.363 of the Revised Code to practice

under the oral health access supervision of a dentist shall diagnose a

patient’s oral health care status.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

4715.366

(E)

Compliance with protocols; Appointment with

authorizing dentist.

(A) A dental hygienist providing dental hygiene services under a permit
issued under section 4715.363 of the Revised Code to practice under
the oral health access supervision of a dentist shall do both of the
following:

(1) Comply with written protocols established by the authorizing
dentist who authorizes the dental hygienist’s provision of services
and standing orders established by the authorizing dentist, including
protocols and standing orders regarding emergencies and, for the
purpose of section 4715.365 of the Revised Code, protocols
regarding what constitutes a medically significant change to a
patient’s medical or dental history;

(2) Immediately following the completion of the dental hygiene
services and subject to division (B) of this section, direct the
patient to a dentist for a clinical evaluation and schedule or cause to be
scheduled an appointment for the patient with a dentist.

(B) For purposes of division (A)(2) of this section, the dental hygienist shall
make every attempt to schedule the patient’s appointment with the dentist
not later than six months after the completion of the dental hygiene services.
The dental hygienist shall provide the patient with a written notice of the
appointment that includes, at a minimum, the dentist’s name, address, and
telephone number; the date and time of the appointment; and a statement of
the dental hygiene services performed by the hygienist. The notice shall be
given to the patient or the patient’s representative and one copy shall be

given to the authorizing dentist.
Effective Date: , eff. 3/23/2015.

4715.367 Maximum number of permittees under

authorizing dentist.
An authorizing dentist shall not at any one time have more than three
dental hygienists who hold permits issued under section 4715.363 of the
Revised Code working under the dentist’s authorization pursuant to section

4715.365 of the Revised Code.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

4715.368 List of locations where services are provided.
At the request of the state dental board, an authorizing dentist or the dental
hygienist who has been authorized to perform dental hygiene services in
accordance with section 4715.365 of the Revised Code shall make available
to the board a list of all locations where the dental hygienist provided
services, the locations where the hygienist plans to provide services in the

future, or both, as specified in the board’s request.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

4715.369 Expiration of oral health access supervision

permit; Renewal.

(A) An oral health access supervision permit issued under section 4715.362
of the Revised Code expires on the thirty-first day of December of the
odd-numbered year that occurs after the permit’s issuance. A dentist
who desires to renew a permit shall apply, under oath, to the state dental
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board on a form prescribed by the board in rules adopted under section

4715.372 of the Revised Code. At the time of application, the dentist shall

pay a renewal fee of twenty dollars.

(B) The board shall renew an oral health access supervision permit for a
two-year period if the dentist submitted a complete application, paid
the renewal fee, is in good standing with the board, and verified with
the board all of the following:

(1) The locations at which dental hygienists have, under the dentist’s
authorization, provided services during the two years prior to
submission of the renewal application;

(2) The number of patients treated, during the two years prior to
submission of the renewal application, by each dental hygienist
providing dental hygiene services under the dentist’s
authorization;

(3) For each number of patients provided under division (B)(2) of
this section, the number of patients whom the dentist clinically
evaluated following the provision of dental hygiene services by a

dental hygienist.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

4715.37 Expiration of permit to practice under dentist’s

supervision; Renewal.

(A) A permit to practice under the oral health access supervision of a
dentist issued under section 4715.363 of the Revised Code expires on
the thirty-first day of December of the odd-numbered year that occurs
after the permit’s issuance. A dental hygienist who desires to renew a
permit to practice under the oral health access supervision of a dentist
shall apply, under oath, to the state dental board on a form prescribed
by the board in rules adopted under section 4715.372 of the Revised
Code. At the time of application, the dental hygienist shall pay a
renewal fee of twenty dollars.

(B) The state dental board shall renew a permit for a two-year period if the
dental hygienist submitted a complete application, paid the renewal
fee, is in good standing with the board, and has verified with the board
both of the following:

(1) The locations at which the hygienist has provided dental hygiene
services under a permit to practice under the oral health access
supervision of a dentist;

(2) The number of patients that the hygienist has treated under a
permit during the two years prior to submission of the renewal

application.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

4715.371 Directory of permit holders.

The state dental board shall develop and publish on its web site a directory
containing the names and contact information including electronic mail addresses,
of dentists and dental hygienists who hold current, valid permits issued under

sections 4715.362 and 4715.363 of the Revised Code.
Effective Date:3/23/2015

4715.372 Adoption of rules; Course standards.

(A) The state dental board shall adopt rules in accordance with Chapter
119. of the Revised Code as necessary to implement the oral health
access supervision program, including rules that do all of the following:
(1) Forthe purpose of division (G)(19) of section 4715.36 of the Revised

Code, designate additional facilities at which a dental hygienist may
be authorized to perform dental hygiene services under the oral health
access supervision program;

(2) For the purpose of section 4715.362 of the Revised Code,
prescribe the application form and requirements for obtaining an
oral health access supervision permit;

(3) For the purpose of section 4715.363 of the Revised Code,
prescribe the application form for a permit to practice as a dental
hygienist under the oral health access supervision of a dentist;

(4) For the purpose of division (B)(3) of section 4715.363 of the
Revised Code and subject to division (B) of this section, establish
standards for the course in the practice of dental hygiene under
oral health access supervision;

(5) For the purpose of section 4715.369 of the Revised Code,
prescribe the form for renewal of an oral health access supervision
permit;

(6) For the purpose of section 4715.37 of the Revised Code, prescribe
the form for renewal of a permit to practice as a dental hygienist
under the oral health access supervision of a dentist.

(B) The course in the practice of dental hygiene under oral health access

supervision for which the board establishes standards under division (A)(4)

of this section shall meet all of the following requirements:

(1) Beeight hours in length;

(2) Include, at a minimum, instruction in both of the following:

(a) The treatment of geriatric patients, medically compromised
patients, developmentally disabled patients, and pediatric
patients;

(b) Recordkeeping practices.

(3) Be developed and offered by an institution accredited by the
American dental association commission on dental accreditation
or a program provided by a sponsor of continuing education
approved by the board;

(4) Include content that is separate and independent from the course
content required for the completion of dental hygiene education

from an accredited dental hygiene school.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

4715.373 Authorized activities.
Nothing in sections 4715.36 to 4715.372 of the Revised Code authorizes
any activity prohibited by division (F) of section 4715.22 of the Revised Code and

the activities prohibited or not authorized by section 4715.23 of the Revised Code.
Effective Date:3/23/2015

4715.374 Suspension or revocation of permit.

The state dental board may, in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised
Code, suspend or revoke a permit issued under section 4715.362 or 4715.363
of the Revised Code if the permit holder fails to comply with sections

4715.361 to 4715.373 of the Revised Code.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

4715.375 Annual reports.

The state dental board shall annually report the status of the oral health

access supervision program. The report shall be submitted to the governor

and, in accordance with section 101.68 of the Revised Code, to the general
assembly. The report shall specify, for the year covered by the report, at
least all of the following:

(A) The number of dentists who applied for and were issued oral health
access supervision permits under section 4715.362 of the Revised
Code;

(B) The number of dental hygienists who applied for and were issued
permits to practice under the oral health access supervision of a dentist
under section 4715.363 of the Revised Code;

(C) The number of dentists who applied for and were granted renewal of
oral health access supervision permits under section 4715.369 of the
Revised Code;

(D) The number of dental hygienists who applied for and were granted
renewal of permits to practice under the oral health access supervision
of a dentist under section 4715.37 of the Revised Code;

(E) The number and geographic locations of facilities at which dental
hygienists provided dental hygiene services under permits to practice
under the oral health access supervision of a dentist;

(F) The number of patients who received dental hygiene services from
dental hygienists providing services under permits to practice under
the oral health access supervision of a dentist;

(G) The number of patients who received a clinical evaluation from a
dentist following the provision of dental hygiene services under section

4715.365 of the Revised Code.
Effective Date: HB 190, § 1, eff. 8-31-2010.

Ohio Administrative Code

4715-9-06 Dental hygienist participating in the oral

health access supervision program (OHASP).

(A) A dental hygienist may participate in an oral health access supervision
program and provide dental hygiene services if all of the following
requirements have been met:

(1) The dental hygienist, authorizing dentist, and facility, comply
with all requirements outlined in section 4715.36 to 4715.375 of
the Revised Code.

(2) A dental hygienist may provide dental hygiene services as defined
indivision (F) of section 4715.36 of the Revised Code when participating
in the oral health access supervision program (OHASP).

(3) A dental hygienist may perform those duties outlined in board rule
4715-9-01(E) when participating in the OHASP.
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(4)  Adental hygienist may not perform those duties outlined in board rule
4715-9-05(E) when participating in the OHASP.

(B) The dental hygiene services must be provided within 30 days of the
authorizing dentist’s review and evaluation of the patient’s medical
records, unless there are medically significant changes in the patients
medical history since the review. If a medically significant change has
occurred, no dental hygiene services shall be provided under this section
until the authorizing dentist completes another review and evaluation of the
patient’s medical and dental history. The authorizing dentist may complete
the subsequent review and evaluation of the patient’s medical and dental
history by telephone, facsimile, electronic mail, video, or any other means of
communication.

(C) Naotification to the patient and operator of the facility where dental
hygiene services are to be provided that no dentist will be present, as
required in division (5) of section 4715.365(A) of the Revised Code,

shall be made prior to providing dental hygiene services.
Effective: 3-25-2011

4715-9-06.1 Course requirement for the practice of

dental hygiene under oral health access
supervision program (OHASP).

(A) For purposes of division (B) of section 4715.372 of the Revised Code,
the course shall prepare dental hygienists to properly and safely practice
dental hygiene under oral health access supervision program (OHASP).
The course shall include basic concepts that allow a dental hygienist to
provide dental hygiene services to a patient when the oral health
access supervising dentist is not present at the location at which the
services are provided.

(B) The course shall be eight hours in length and shall include, but not be
limited to, the following:

(1) As required by 4715.372(B)(2)(a) of the Revised Code, the
treatment of geriatric patients, medically compromised patients,
developmentally disabled patients, and pediatric patients:

(a) Common oral conditions

(b) Medical considerations

(c) Medications

(d) Behavioral management

(e) Recognition of abuse

(f) Recognition of what constitutes a medically significant
change to a patient’s medical or dental history.

(2) Infection control.

(3) Ethical and legal considerations.

(4) As required by 4715.372(B)(2)(b) of the Revised Code, the
course should include all recordkeeping practices outlined in
board rule 4715-9-01, and those pertaining to the OHASP
as stated in 4715.361 to 4715.375 of the Revised Code and
be inclusive of all forms required by the board in association

with the OHASP.
Effective: 3-25-2011

4715-10-01 Application for oral health access

supervision permit; Dentist.

(A) No licensed dentist shall participate in the oral health access supervision
program as provided in sections 4715.36 through 4715.374 of the
Revised Code, unless such dentist possesses a permit issued by the Ohio
state dental board.

(B) In order to receive such a permit, the licensed dentist shall apply on a
form prescribed and provided by the state dental board, submit the
application fee of twenty dollars, and provide the following information:
(1) Dentist’s name;

(2) Ohio license number; and
(3) Current practice address.

(C) The state dental board shall issue an oral health access supervision

permit to a dentist who is in good standing with the board and satisfies

all the requirements of this rule.
Effective Date: 9-17-2011.

4715-10-02 Expiration of oral health access
supervision permit;
Renewal.

(A) An oral health access supervision permit issued under section 4715.362 of
the Revised Code expires on the thirty-first day of December of the odd-

numbered year that occurs after the permit’s issuance.

(B) A dentist who desires to renew a permit shall apply, under oath, to the
state dental board on a form prescribed by the board and pay a renewal
fee of twenty dollars.

(C) The board shall renew an oral health access supervision permit for a
two-year period if the dentist submitted a complete application, paid
the renewal fee, is in good standing with the board, and verified with
the board all of the following:

(1) The locations at which dental hygienists have, under the dentist’s
authorization, provided services during the two years prior to
submission of the renewal application;

(2) The number of patients treated, during the two years prior to
submission of the renewal application, by each dental hygienist
providing dental hygiene services under the dentist’s
authorization;

(3) The number of patients reported in accordance with division
(C)(2) of this rule who received a clinical evaluation from a
dentist following the provision of dental hygiene services by the

dental hygienist.
Effective Date: 9-17-2011.

4715-10-02.1  Suspension or revocation of permit; Dentist.

(A) An oral health access supervision permit issued under section 4715.362
of the Revised Code may be suspended for any of the following reasons,
including but not limited to:

(1) The dentist no longer holds a current active license status;

(2) The dentist fails to complete the continuing education
requirements set forth in section 4715.141 of the Revised code
by the thirty-first day of December of the odd-numbered year;

(3) The dentist fails to provide the board with a listing of all locations
where services were provided under the oral health access
supervision program or where services are to be provided in the
future; or

(4) The dentist’s license has been disciplined as set forth in section
4715.30 of the Revised code or for any violation of Chapter

4715.
Effective Date: 9-17-2011.

4715-10-03 Application for oral health access

supervision program permit; Dental
hygienist.

(A) No licensed dental hygienist shall participate in the oral health access
supervision program as provided in sections 4715.36 through 4715.374
of the Revised Code, unless such dental hygienist possesses a permit
issued by the Ohio state dental board.

(B) In order to receive such a permit, the licensed dental hygienist shall
apply on a form prescribed and provided by the state dental board,
submit the application fee of twenty dollars, and provide the following
information:

(1) Dental hygienist’s name;

(2) Ohio license number; and

(3) Other information required by the board.

(C) The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the
applicant has done all of the following:

(1) Completed at least two years and attained a minimum of three
thousand hours of experience in the clinical practice of dental
hygiene;

(2) Completed at least twenty-four hours of continuing dental hygiene
education during the two years immediately preceding submission
of the application;

(3) Completed a course pertaining to the practice of dental hygiene
under the oral health access supervision of a dentist that meets
standards established in rule 4715-9-06.1 of the Administrative
code;

(4) Completed, during the two years immediately preceding
application, a course pertaining to the identification and
prevention of potential medical emergencies that is the same as
the course described in division (C)(2) of section 4715.22 of the
Revised Code.

(D) The state dental board shall issue a permit to practice under the oral health
access supervision of a dentist to a dental hygienist who is in good standing
with the board and meets all of the requirements of paragraphs (B) and (C) of

this rule.
Effective Date: 9-17-2011.




Oral Health Access Supervision Program (Continued)

4715-10-04 Expiration of permit to practice under oral
health access supervision program;
Renewal.

(A) A permit to practice under the oral health access supervision of a
dentist issued under section 4715.363 of the Revised Code expires on
the thirty-first day of December of the odd-numbered year that occurs
after the permit’s issuance.

(B) A dental hygienist who desires to renew a permit shall apply, under
oath, to the state dental board on a form prescribed by the board and
pay a renewal fee of twenty dollars.

(C) The state dental board shall renew a permit for a two-year period if the
dental hygienist submitted a complete application, paid the renewal
fee, is in good standing with the board, and has verified with the board
both of the following:

(1) The locations at which the hygienist has provided dental hygiene
services under a permit to practice under the oral health access
supervision of a dentist;

(2) The number of patients that the hygienist has treated under a
permit during the two years prior to submission of the renewal

application.
Effective Date: 9-17-2011.

4715-10-04.1  Suspension or revocation of permit; Dental

hygienist.

(A) A permit to practice under the oral health access supervision of a
dentist may be suspended for any of the following reasons, including
but not limited to:

(1) The dental hygienist no longer holds a current active license
status;

(2) The dental hygienist fails to complete the continuing education
requirements set forth in section 4715.25 of the Revised code by
the thirty-first day of December of the odd-numbered year;

(3) The dental hygienist has not retained current certification of a
basic life-support training course certified by the American heart
association, American red cross, or the American safety and health
institute at all times while treating patients under the oral health
access supervision of a dentist;

(4) The dental hygienist fails to provide the board with a listing of all
locations where services were provided under the oral health
access supervision program or where services are to be provided
prior to services being rendered; or

(5) The dental hygienist’s license has been disciplined as set forth in
section 4715.30 of the Revised code or for any violation of

Chapter 4715.
Effective Date: 9-17-2011.




