DENTAL EXAMINATION

ON THE DENTAL PRACTICE ACT

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS CHAPTER 4715. OF THE OHIO REVISED AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODES

INSTRUCTIONS

1. Fill in your name, (Last Name, First Name) in the squares provided in the top left-hand corner of

the answer sheet.

2. Select the most correct answer and fill in the corresponding space on the answer sheet.



DENTAL EXAMINATION ON THE DENTAL PRACTICE ACT

(1)  The Ohio State Dental Board is:
(@) A branch of the Ohio Dental Association
(b) A branch of the Ohio Department of Health.
(©) An Ohio governmental regulatory agency.
(d) An Agency of the American Dental Association.
(e) An agency of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

(2)  The purpose of the Ohio State Dental Board is to:
@) Examine and license dentists and dental hygienists.
(b) Formulate rules and regulations governing dentistry in Ohio.
(c) Enforce the laws and rules governing dentistry and dental hygiene in Ohio.
(d) Protect the citizens of the State of Ohio by enforcement of the Dental Practice Act.
(e)  All of the above.

(3) Each person who is licensed to practice dentistry in Ohio shall register with the Ohio State
Dental Board:

€) On or before the last day of December in any even-numbered year.
(b) Upon receiving a letter from the Treasurer.

(c) On or before the first day of January of each even-numbered year regardless of initial
issuance of the license.

(d) To pay continuing education fees for required coursework.

(e) None of the above.

(4) Licensed dentists must notify the Ohio State Dental Board in writing within ___ days
concerning any change in employment office address.
@) 7
(b) 10
(c) 15
(d) 30

(e)  Atthe time of license renewal.

(5) In order to renew a dental license the licensee must complete:
(@) 10 hours of continuing education annually.
(b) 20 hours of continuing education biennially.
(c) 20 hours of continuing education annually.
(d) 40 hours of continuing education biennially.

(e) None of the above.
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DENTAL EXAMINATION ON THE DENTAL PRACTICE ACT

(6) A dentist-employer can have a maximum of ___ currently certified expanded function dental
auxiliary(s) practicing at one time under his/her supervision.

(@ 1
(b) 2
() 3
(d 4
) 5

(7) A dental hygienist licensed to practice in Ohio may perform the following intraoral procedures:
(@) Removal of calcareous deposits or accretions from the crowns and roots of teeth.
(b) Periodontal scaling, root planing, soft tissue curettage.
(c) Sulcular placement of prescribed materials.
(d) Placement of sealants.
(e)  All of the above.

(8) A licensed dentist may not delegate which remediable intra-oral task and/or procedure?
@) Preliminary selection and sizing of orthodontic bands and arch wires.
(b)  Checking for and removal of loosened orthodontic bands and arch wires
(c) Cementation of orthodontic bands and/or bonding of orthodontic brackets.
(d) Placement and removal of orthodontic separators and ties (steel and elastomeric)

(e) Placement and removal of orthodontic arch wires, auxiliary arch wires, and ligation of
same to orthodontic bands and/or brackets.

(9) The following tasks and/or procedures can be delegated by a licensed dentist to either basic
qualified personnel or expanded function dental auxiliary:

@) Laser retraction of the gingival sulcus prior to direct or indirect impression technique.

(b) Final impressions of any tissue-bearing area, whether it be hard or soft tissue, upon
which a prosthetic restoration is to be placed.

(c) Occlusal registration procedures for any prosthetic restoration, whether it be fixed or
removable.

(d) Subgingival scaling of teeth.
(e) None of the above.
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(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

DENTAL EXAMINATION ON THE DENTAL PRACTICE ACT

In order to practice while the dentist is not physically present, the Ohio licensed dental
hygienist must:

(@) Successfully complete a 4-hour Board-approved course in identification and prevention
of medical emergencies.

(b) Have a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certificate.

(c) Have proof of practice as a dental hygienist for at least one year and fifteen hundred
hours.

(d) Comply with written protocols or written standing order that the supervising dentist
establishes.

(e) All of the above.

A dentist who decides to prescribe or dispense an opioid analgesic, benzodiazepine, or other
reported drug, shall take the following steps prior to issuing a prescription/dispensing:
@) Review and document in the patient record the reasons why the prescription is needed.

(b)  Check OARRS before prescribing/dispensing.

(c) Review the patient’s medical history.

(d)  Consider the use of non-narcotic alternatives for pain control.
(e)  All of the above.

What percentage of continuing education for dental license renewal can be obtained in a
directly interactive presentation format?

(@) 10%
(b) 20%
(c) 50%
(d  75%
(e)  100%

A valid receipt, voucher, or certificate of completion of a continuing education program or
offering must include the following information:

€) Names(s) of the sponsor and instructor(s).

(b)  Course title.

(c) Number of credit hours of acceptable continuing education credit.
(d) Date and location of continuing education offering.

(e)  All of the above.
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DENTAL EXAMINATION ON THE DENTAL PRACTICE ACT

(14) Alicensed dentist may be awarded continuing education hours for “volunteer service as a
clinician” through an approved program during any given biennium.

(@  True
(b) False

(15) A dentist-employer may delegate coronal polishing to the following dental auxiliary personnel:

@) An unlicensed dental hygienist who is a graduate of an accredited dental hygiene
program, has completed training in advanced remediable intraoral dental tasks and/or
procedures, and is awaiting Board licensure.

(b) An unlicensed dentist who is a graduate of an accredited dental school and is awaiting
Board licensure.

(c) A currently certified dental assistant, who has completed a 7-hour Board-approved
training program in coronal polishing, successfully passed a standardized test, and
received a Board-approved certificate to perform coronal polishing.

(d) All of the above.
(e) None of the above.

(16) A currently certified dental assistant is not required to provide evidence of the following in
order to apply for a dental assistant radiographer certificate?

€) Evidence of good moral character (FBI background check).

(b) Successful completion of a 7-hour Board-approved course in dental radiography.

(c) Immunity to or inoculation against the Hepatitis B virus.
(d) aandb.
(e) bandc.

(17) No dentist shall employ or use conscious sedation unless such dentist possesses a permit of
authorization based on evidence showing that he/she:

€) Has satisfactorily completed training in conscious sedation, which included a minimum
of sixty hours of didactic instruction and twenty cases of clinical experience.

(b) Has a properly equipped facility with emergency equipment and drugs.

(c) Maintains a permanent address within the State of Ohio where he/she conducts
business.

(d) Maintains successful completion of an Advance Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) course or its
age appropriate equivalent, Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS).

(e)  All of the above.
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DENTAL EXAMINATION ON THE DENTAL PRACTICE ACT

Dentists who do not hold a Board-approved conscious sedation permit cannot prescribe or

administer oral sedation to patients who:

@) Are unable to continuously maintain an airway.

(b) Are 12 years or younger.

(©) Have had a single drug or combination of drugs administered concomitantly orally or
sublingually at one time on a given treatment day but require an increased dosage in
order to obtain a sufficient level of sedation or anxiolysis.

(d) Have not completed a current health history.

(e)  All of the above.

An anesthesia permit is required to administer all of the following except:

@) Propofol.

(b) Parenteral ketamine.

(c) Nitrous oxide/oxygen.

(d) Ultra-short acting barbiturates.

(e) None of the above.

A supervising dentist may not have more than ___ currently certified dental assistants holding

Board-approved coronal polishing certificates practicing at one time under his/her supervision.

@ 1

(b) 2

() 3

d 4

() 5

A dental hygienist may provide dental hygiene services to a patient when the supervising

dentist is not present if the following requirements are met:

)
(b)

(©)

(d)

The dental hygienist has at least one thousand hours of clinical experience.

The dental hygienist has completed a Board-approved course in the identification and
prevention of medical emergencies.

The patient of the dental hygienist has been examined by the supervising dentist not
more than two years prior to the appointment.

The dental hygienist is certified to administer local anesthesia.
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DENTAL EXAMINATION ON THE DENTAL PRACTICE ACT

Which of the following are grounds for disciplinary action?

@) Selling, prescribing, giving away, or administering drugs for other than legal and
therapeutic purposes.

(b) Failure to use universal blood and body fluid precautions.

(©) Waiving the payment of all or any part of a health insurance deductible or copayment
for a patient.

(d) Conviction of a misdemeanor committed in the course of practice or of any felony.

(e) All of the above.

Which of the following dental personnel are required to provide evidence of immunity to or
inoculation against the Hepatitis B virus?

@) Dentists.

(b) Dental hygienists.

(c) Dental assistant radiographers.

(d) Certified dental assistants with Board-approved coronal polishing certificates.
(e) All of the above.

Heat sterilization devices must be tested for proper functionona ___ basis by means of a
biological monitoring system.

@) Daily.

(b)  Weekly.

(c) Bi-monthly.

(d)  Monthly.

(e) Quarterly.

A dental assistant may assist the licensed dentist in all the following except:
€) The concurrent performance of supportive procedures.

(b)  The administration of drugs and medications.

(c) The administration inhalation anesthetic agents, including nitrous oxide.
(d) The parenteral injections of drugs and local anesthetic agents.

(e)  All of the above.
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DENTAL EXAMINATION ON THE DENTAL PRACTICE ACT

Which of the following are not required infection control barrier techniques?

(@)
(b)
(€)
(d)
(€)

Chin length face shields or masks.
Eyewear with protective side shields.
Gowns.

Disposable gloves.

None of the above.

Which of the following items does not need to be heat sterilized between patients?

(@)
(b)
()
(d)
(€)

Disposable prophy cups.

Surgical instruments.

Air-water syringe tips.

All hand and orthodontic instruments.
None of the above.

The following intra-oral procedures can be delegated to basic qualified personnel (BQP) except:

(@)
(b)
(€)
(d)
(e)

Aspiration and retraction, excluding placement of gingival retraction materials.
Pulp testing.

Suture removal.

Caries susceptibility testing.

Placement of rubber dam clamp.

The following intra-oral procedures can be delegated to expanded function dental auxiliary

(EFDA) personnel except:

(@)
(b)
(©)
(d)

(e)

Placement of sealants.
Administration of nitrous oxide-oxygen.
Application of topical anesthetics.

Placement and removal of orthodontic arch wires, auxiliary arch wires, and ligation of
same to orthodontic bands and/or brackets.

Placement of non-metallic restorative materials, including direct bonded restorative
materials.
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DENTAL EXAMINATION ON THE DENTAL PRACTICE ACT

When prescribing or personally furnishing a reported drug or controlled substances in
schedules II, lll, IV and V, the dentist shall take into account all of the following except:

(@) The potential for abuse of the reported drug

(b)  The possibility that use of the reported drug may lead to dependence

(©) The possibility the patient will obtain the reported drug for nontherapeutic use

(d)  That the dentist does not want to be bothered with phone calls of persistent pain from
the patient

(e) The potential existence of an illicit market for the reported drug.

A dentist who has graduated, but has not completed the requirements for licensure in the State

of Ohio, may legally practice as a/an _____ under the supervision of a licensed dentist.

€) Dental assistant radiographer.

(b) Dental hygienist.

(c) Expanded function dental auxiliary.

(d) Basic qualified personnel (BQP).

(e) Certified dental assistant holding a Board-approved coronal polishing certificate.

A dental assistant may take x-rays for _____ after completing the didactic portion of the 7-hour

initial training course for dental assistant radiography before he/she must be licensed by the

Board.

€) 15 days

(b) 30 days

(c) 60 days

(d)  90days

(e) As long as they want until they get it right.

Use of hand hygiene is acceptable under the following conditions:

@) Before and/or after patient contact.

(b) When hands are visibly soiled.

(c) After removing gloves that are torn, cut or punctured.

(d) Before leaving the dental operatory or laboratory.

(e) All of the above.
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